Insurance guru named Chairman Security Trust Fund

Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, on Tuesday approved the appointment of Mr. Oye Hassan–Odukale as the new Chairman of the State Security Trust Fund Board of Trustees, subject to the ratification of the State House of Assembly.

He succeeds Chief Remi Makanjuola whose tenure as Chairman of the Board of Trustees has expired after serving two terms.

In a statement signed by the Secretary to the State Government, Mr. Tunji Bello, the Governor also named a former Deputy Majority Leader in the State House of Assembly, Dr. Abdulrasak Mobolaji Balogun, as the Executive Secretary of the Fund following the voluntary resignation of Mr. Fola Arthur Worrey.

The Governor also approved the appointment of other members of the board of Trustees of the LSSTF to include Managing Director of Access Bank, Mr. Herbert Wigwe, Mr. Yemi Idowu, Mr. Opeyemi Agbaje, Managing Director of UBA, Mr. Philips Osuoza and DIG Isreal Ajao (Rtd).

Other members of the Board of Trustees named by the Governor were the Honourable Commissioner for Housing, Mr. Gbolahan Lawal and Special Adviser, Office of Overseas Affairs and Investment, Professor Ademola Abass.

The appointment of Dr. Abdulrasak Mobolaji Balogun who holds a Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) from the University of Maiduguri and Masters in Public Administration and Public Health from the Lagos State University and the University of Lagos respectively takes effect from Tuesday, November 10, 2015.

The tenure of the last Board of Trustees of the State Security Trust Fund expires on November 15, this year, and the former members have already served for two tenures and are ineligible for another term.

source: Punch